SCVMM 2012 SP1 Error when adding clusters with decommissioned nodes

During our recent upgrade to System Center Virtual Machine Manager 2012 SP1 I hit an issue where I got this error when I tried to add two of the Hyper V Clusters in our environment back to SCVMM:

Image(3)

I confirmed that none of the reasons mentioned in the message were preventing us from adding these hosts and after doing a ipconfig /flushdns on the SCVMM server and then trying to add one of the clusters again I noticed that the SCVMM server was querying DNS for an ip for a host that was decommissioned but had not yet been evicted from the cluster.

This brought memories of hitting this issue in SCVMM 2008 R2 back to mind and I confirmed that both clusters that I was trying to add had a single node that was decommissioned but had not yet been evicted.

After evicting the decommissioned nodes I was able to properly add the clusters to SCVMM.

I am now blogging about this so that hopefully I and everyone else can remember that you will hit this issue in SCVMM 2008 R2, 2012, and 2012 SP1 if you try to add clusters to SCVMM that have nodes that are offline.

Leave a Reply

